About Me

Hey, I’m Steph. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!  This is my little corner of the interwebs where I wax poetic about the things that inspire me every day, both important and trivial.

Photo on 13-04-18 at 7.08 PM

The only thing I know for sure is that I know nothing for sure. Which is a pretty good place to start, in my opinion.

Anyways. I’m a second  almost third-year university student pursuing an honour’s B.Sc. in kinesiology with a major in biochemistry. I’m also a relatively accomplished piano player, though I’ve been on hiatus from formal lesson to focus on school. I’d like to achieve an ARCT piano level before I finish graduate school (which might only be when I’m 35, so that gives me a lot of leeway). For the time being, I volunteer as the piano player for a youth choir I used to sing in, and participate in the university choir. I also play the baritone saxophone in the university concert band.

I love learning. I love attending class and homeworking and griping about both extensively (because we bond by complaining, no?). I’d like to learn to speak as many languages as possible, and plan on taking a spanish course next summer (when I’ll theoretically have the time!) I am fully bilingual in both english and french – actually, french is my first language and the language in which I am pursuing my degree. I am extremely lucky to be attending a bilingual university.

I also love reading and writing. I would love to write a novel one day (it’s up there on my list of “lifetime achievements”, along with the ARCT thing and getting my black belt in Taek Won Do), and find both journalling and blogging to be an excellent outlet.

Food and exercise and very important to me; I am committed to leading a healthy lifestyle. Being a highly-driven individual with perfectionistic tendencies, I haven’t always done the best job of taking care of myself, but time and lots of work has taught me a lot about being kind to myself and helped me to get over a stint of disordered eating. My definition of “healthy” has taken on a degree of flexibility that definitely wasn’t there before.

21467_10151723986057367_201815077_n

Travel is my favourite thing to do. I was born in Ottawa, Ontario, and lived briefly in East Lansing, Michigan before moving to Sudbury, Ontario (where I’ll remain planted for who knows how much longer). Outside of the United States and Canada, I’ve been to Thailand, Cambodia, Fiji, and Mexico. I plan on completing a medical internship in Tanzania in fall 2015 and hope to one day do the same somewhere in South America. The Galapagos islands are my current dream destination (seriously, my ideal honeymoon involves an active cruise through the islands followed by exploring Quito and other parts of Ecuador). Plans post-graduation include a backpacking trip through Europe.

I have an amazing support network comprised of my wonderful family and a circle of close friends I wouldn’t trade for the world. And of course, forcing me to slow down and relax, is my partner-in-crime. We’re polar opposites with the same core values, and the only plausible explanation for why my crazy-ambitious high-wired over-achieving ways haven’t driven him insane yet is probably the fact that opposites attract. Or maybe that my tendency to over-schedule my life results in my everyday being so comically haywire it’s even more entertaining than his television sitcoms. 😉

IMG_0331

Happy reading!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s